At the Osservanza Theatre in Imola an evening, Tuesday, August 24 (9pm), dedicated to two leading Russian authors of the nineteenth century: Sergei Rachmaninov and Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. To pay tribute to them the Trio di Parma, one of the most important chamber groups in the world active for over thirty years.

On the program, two trios composed ten years after each other by the two Russian composers met when Tchaikovsky, who was already an established composer, listened to some of Rachmaninov’s pieces at the Moscow Conservatory and was positively impressed, so much that he offered to facilitate the representation of his works in theaters and academies.

In program the Trio in A min. op. 50 that Tchaikovsky composed on the first anniversary of the death of his friend Nikolai Rubinstein on March 23, 1881, and the episode profoundly marked his sensitivity to define the first movement of the work as “Elegiac Poem”. The same adjective can be found in the title of Rachmaninov’s work, also on the programme, which at the age of twenty, in January 1893, wrote his Trio élégiaque in G min. op. 1, a composition divided into three times in which the personality of the three instruments shines in a game of measured balance, where what matters is not so much virtuosity, but the expressiveness of the whole.

The Trio di Parma, one of the most prestigious chamber ensembles in Italy with important awards abroad, is composed of the violinist Ivan Rabaglia, who plays on a precious violin made by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini in Piacenza in 1744, by the cellist Enrico Bronzi, with an instrument by Vincenzo Panormo built in London in 1775 and by the pianist Alberto Miodini. The Trio was formed in 1990 in the chamber music class of Pierpaolo Maurizzi at the Conservatory “A. Boito” in Parma and in a few years it has established itself on the international scene with a remarkable recording activity and concerts with the greatest artists of the world. The trio is also involved in teaching at the Conservatories of Novara, Gallarate, at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, at the Chamber Music Academy in Duino and at the School of Music in Fiesole.